8:54 am - 11/17/2010

MAMA No Shows

As the 2010 Mnet Asian Music Awards (MAMA) ceremony inches closer, artists are dropping out left and right. Today it was revealed that Core Contents Media's groups T-Ara and Davichi, although nominated for awards, will not be going because of scheduling conflicts.

In addition Rain and MBLAQ from J. Tune Entertainment will not be going either. Pledis artists After School and Son Dambi will also not be in attendance at the 2010 MAMA awards.

Rookie group CNBLUE who was nominated for many awards will also not be participating. Cube Entertainment released a statement today saying, "4minute, Beast, and G.NA will not be attending MAMA because of their busy schedules and individual activities so their schedules are really tight."

SM Entertainment artists Super Junior, Girls' Generation, and SHINee have also dropped out of the awards show.

On the other hand, the artists that are in fact going to be in attendance are 2NE1, Miss A, 2PM. Japanese group Perfume will also attend the awards.

It seems like there are only YG and JYP artists left. Do you think the awards will be biased now?

Source: Koreaboo + (tiaradiadem, Nate 1+2, Naver, and @CUBEENTOFFICIAL)

I did a little review on the nominees & if they go by the "No Show, No Award" Policy that they have been the last few years, then some awards have already been decided... (I've only included the categories affected)

Male Group Award
2AM 2PM B2ST MBLAQ Super Junior

Female Group Award
2NE1 4minute KARA T-ara SNSD

Male Singer Award
PSY Se7en Rain Taeyang Wheesung

Female Singer Award
BoA Gummy Seo In Young Son Dambi Lee Hyori

Male Rookie Award
CNBlue Infinite Teen Top Seo In Guk ZE:A

Female Rookie Award
G.NA miss A Nine Muses Rainbow SISTAR

Best Dance Performance – Solo
Narsha – “Bbiri Bbabba” Rain – “The Song That’ll Hold YOu Back” Lee Hyori – “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang”
Taeyang – “I’ll be There” Hyuna – “Change”

Best Dance Performance – Male Group
2PM – “I’ll Be Back” B2ST – “SHOCK” MBLAQ – “Y” SHINee – “Lucifer” Super Junior – “Bonamana”

Best Dance Performance – Female Group
2NE1 – “Can’t Nobody” 4minute – “HUH!” miss A – “Bad Girl GOod Girl” Secret – “Magic” T-ara – “Bo Peep Bo Peep”

Best Vocal Performance – Group
2AM – “Can’t Send You Even if I Die” 4men – “Can’t” 8Eight – “Break Up Is Coming” Vibe – “Come Back” Davichi – “Time Please Stop”

Best Band Performance
CNBlue – “Love” FT Island – “Love Love Love” Hot POtato – “Confession” Boohwal – “Love Is” TransFixion – “Shouts of Reds”

The Shilla Duty Free Asian Wave Award
2PM 4minute CNBlue KARA SNSD

Best Music Video Picture
2NE1 – “Can’t Nobody” Epik High – “Run” UV – “Sorry I Can’t Be Cool”
Ga-In – “Can’t Turn Back” Taeyang – “I’ll Be There”

Best Collaboration
Homme – “Eating Well” Ga-In/Jo Kwon – “We Fell In Love” Seo Young Eun/Jung Yeob – “This Pitiful Word”
IU/Seulong – “Nagging” Sung Shi Kyung/IU – “It’s You”

EDIT: I've Italized & Underlined a few more nominees - it's been said a couple times within the thread that these artists will not be attending. Waiting for sources.
Page 1 of 10
<<[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] >>
0th_place 16th-Nov-2010 10:35 pm (UTC)
all I curr about
ikanpuyu123 17th-Nov-2010 01:10 am (UTC)
jaerotic 16th-Nov-2010 10:36 pm (UTC)
lol MAMA
end_of_fayte +117th-Nov-2010 06:19 am (UTC)
light_lee 16th-Nov-2010 10:37 pm (UTC)
alright, well.

congrats to 2pm, then
saicamui 16th-Nov-2010 10:38 pm (UTC)
junhobrand 16th-Nov-2010 10:37 pm (UTC)
looks like 20's choice when 2PM won alot
kanbinayume 16th-Nov-2010 10:37 pm (UTC)
lmao this is going to fail...
saicamui 16th-Nov-2010 10:38 pm (UTC)
ethereal_limbo 16th-Nov-2010 10:38 pm (UTC)
already knew this yesterday. sadly, i'm no translator, so couldn't submit it to omona, but yay for you doing so!! ;o;

who is going now, i wonder...
saicamui 16th-Nov-2010 10:39 pm (UTC)
i laughed much at your comment XDDD
aniloratka 16th-Nov-2010 10:38 pm (UTC)
lilmarjiluvsmcr 16th-Nov-2010 10:39 pm (UTC)
aho_monky 16th-Nov-2010 10:39 pm (UTC)
not worth watching then i guess
crypticbluerose 16th-Nov-2010 10:42 pm (UTC)
they probably wouldn't even tell us, if infinite would be there or not. lol
senseikk 16th-Nov-2010 10:40 pm (UTC)
I feel sad for mnet now.... :(
koushiba 16th-Nov-2010 10:40 pm (UTC)
Perfume will be there? I will watch.
dareka 16th-Nov-2010 10:43 pm (UTC)
perfume and 2NE1 in the same space? my head will explode.
anthonymarie 16th-Nov-2010 10:40 pm (UTC)
WOW. 2PM, you certainly have bagged all the awards.
You guys deserved it.
wintersol 16th-Nov-2010 10:47 pm (UTC)
lol, not really.
saintalecto 16th-Nov-2010 10:40 pm (UTC)
LOL snubbed! But OP, why did you cross 2AM out? They're JYP, they should be going, no?
nortonamo 16th-Nov-2010 10:43 pm (UTC)
Because of Kwon hosting Inkigayo they aren't.
Or something like that.
onebetterday 16th-Nov-2010 10:41 pm (UTC)
sh*t... I need 2AM to win something ):
ohmysweetlovex 16th-Nov-2010 10:53 pm (UTC)
IKR! I mean they definitely deserve to win something for pete's sakes. :(
Page 1 of 10
<<[1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] >>
This page was loaded Nov 25th 2017, 4:00 am GMT.